How to get started?

Anything related to the 206CC
Rubyoptics

How to get started?

Post by Rubyoptics »

Hey all. I guess this is somewhat of a random thing, for which I'm sorry! As you probably know, this is my first car. One of the reasons I chose the CC was the fact that it was based on the incredibly successful 206 which meant that there are plenty of parts and mods available. I'll pre-face what's next by saying that I'm not a boy racer who wants fart cans and neons and all that crap, but i DO want to make a few changes, both styling and performance wise. I would also like to be able to work on my car to do basic and maybe in the future intermediate maintenance.

Here's my problem.....I'm terrified of messing up and damaging the car. I was a Royal Navy engineer for 12 years, so it's not as if i'm incompetent when it comes to mechanical work, i'm just really worried about doing something that will either damage the car or leave me with a huge repair bill.

So far, I've given the car a thorough detailing inside and out, deep cleaned the engine bay and replaced the phase 1 rear lights with something a bit more modern. I read about projects such as puddle lights and footwell lighting both on here and on 206info and really want the...courage i guess, to take on something like it.

So, my question is how can i build up to these types of thing? Are there any 'stepping stones' that you would recommend to help me gain confidence in working on my own car?

Sorry that this isn't your standard 'how do i...' question, but you all have been so helpful both pre and post purchase that I thought I would come to you with this!

Thanks as always!
2003 2.0. Dyno'd @ 134BHP. 2.5" full stainless exhaust system, lexus style rear lights, LED sidelights and interiors. Latest mod - Full stainless steel Group N gear linkages.

IanL

Re: How to get started?

Post by IanL »