Hello from NL

Are you a new member? Why not pop in and introduce yourself!
CJ206cc

Hello from NL

Post by CJ206cc »

Hi :wave:

I got a 206 cc 1.6 from 2003 about a week ago. After getting to know it a little better I'm starting to enjoy it. I'm horrible at buying used cars and besides small stuff I have little experience fixing and maintaining cars. I went from driving new cars (job) to buying cheap disposable cars. I'm nearly 40 years and it's a out time I learn to fix a few things. I'm fairly handy and technical just little experience. Since recently DIY garages are becoming more popular in NL (heard they are quite popular in UK already) which solves the problem of not having space and all tools.

Although there are some dutch forums too it's just easier to find good info in english for me and already solved a few issues reading some threads here, and the repair guide, so figured I sign up here.

My radiator fan didn't turn on and learned that was probably the engine coolant sensor or a resistor. Found a video that showed how to diagnose it using a multimeter. Disconnected the plug from the sensor and measured 5 volt in the plug and continuity. Went back inside to grab something, came back and the fan was on :hyper: So I figured it had to be the sensor. I just got a ODB scanner in the mail while working on the car, so hooked everything up again. Found no codes... turns out I "fixed" it, probably from the multimeter pins in the plug.

The remote control for locking the car didn't work either until I fiddled with it and replaced the battery, with the same one, a couple of times. The alarm doesn't seem to work though.

I'm going to get it in better shape mechanically first and then some subtle styling. The previous owner did a bad job painting some interior pieces. It's something I've done before woth great results so I look forward to that part.