Anti Pollution & Engine Management

Electrical 206CC problems
goldmister

Anti Pollution & Engine Management

Post by goldmister »

Hi all.

Newbie here so a) "Hello" and b) hopefully I've put this in the right place.

I've been reading a lot about the "anti pollution' error message and engine management light coming on.
This happened to me the other day. I bought a 2002 Peugeot 206CC 1.6 last week. Yes quite old but in decent enough nick. Picked it up, drove it 60 miles back home without a problem. Later in the week I did two short-ish trips back to the supermarket and last Friday drove it 25 miles to work. Again fine...until I was driving back. I turned at a roundabout and as I turned heard this beep which freaked me out a bit. Saw the error flash up and engine management light came on. This was near London in fairly busy traffic so I was already thinking 'just dont breakdown here'. Managed to get it home ok (thankfully).
Oh I should mention (as I've seen petrol being mentioned) before the 25 mile journey I filled up at a Tesco/Esso garage.

I've seen that this is a very common problem and read about the various codes to point me in the right direction. Garages around here (High Wycombe- Bucks) seem to be wanting around £60 just to look at it so I bought an OBD2 reader which will hopefully help.

So today I'll plug it in and get back with any codes and post them here. Hoping for some guidance really.

Thanks for reading

Glen
High Wycombe
206CC 2002 1.6 Petrol

goldmister

Re: Anti Pollution & Engine Management

Post by goldmister »

Ok so did the scan. It came up with one issue.
P0420 Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1)
High Wycombe
206CC 2002 1.6 Petrol

GrandadMonkey

Post by GrandadMonkey »