How to: Replace drop links

Anything related to the 206CC
EdmundIJones

How to: Replace drop links

Post by EdmundIJones »

My mind has recently turns towards May where my 206cc is due it's yearly MOT. I checked last MOT documents and it had an advisory that one of the drop links had excessive play. So, a new drop link is in order.

I'm no mechanic but I'm becoming ever more confident in what I tackle and I try to write guides for people to try and give them confidence also to give simple jobs a go. Not so long ago I replaced the brake disks and pads on my car and did a normal service. I've done write ups on my Volvo XC90 also but they aren't much use here. So, just in case anyone needs help replacing a drop link here is how (and a few of my experiences!)

1. Jack the car up and rest both sides on axle stands. I've been told having the car even rather than just up on one side releases pressure and makes this job easier.

2. Locate the drop link and check the condition of the bolts, for people who don't know, this is the drop link and it's got a nut at the top and another at the bottom, the following picture shows you where to look (although doesn't show the nuts which are on the other side (sorry)

3. Un-screw the nut at the top and bottom, I don't think it makes any difference to which way around it's done, there is no real tension. I spent 10 minutes using my socket set trying to unscrew the top nut, it went around and around but didn't make any progress, it seems you either need a special tool or some thing else. After hacking things around so badly I ended up cutting the drop link off with and angle grinder... Tip: be very careful if you do this as you are cutting close to the ABS sensor cable and brake hose.

4. Once you've have got the drop link off and you've tidied the area up you can fit your new drop link in place by just lining it up and screwing on new bolts. Tighten them up and you're done.